The Beauty Of Childbirth? Part 2

img_2025

From the very beginning of my pregnancy with Marissa, she proved to us that she was going to be the more difficult of the three. While I had absolutely no morning sickness with the twins, Marissa’s pregnancy was so bad that by the time I delivered I had only gained 5 lbs. It took the techs three tries to be able to even find out her gender, cause she liked to be well hidden. She has been quit the stinker since. LOL

The week or so prior to Marissa being born was eventful to say the least. Multiple times I ended up on the maternity floor because I was having contractions, only to be sent home after hours of monitoring because they were not strong enough. The beginning of the week my mom had come up because we were for sure thought this was it, even my OB said that he would most likely being seeing me that night. We waited, and waited, went for a couple long walks, I went for a ride on some bumpy roads… I was trying everything to get the contractions strong enough to actually go something. Every time I was told that my contractions were not strong enough almost broke me. They felt horrible, and since I had to be induced with Maelee and Makenna I was for sure that I was in fact in active labor. My mom ended up having to go home to return to work on Wednesday and try to save the rest of her vacation days for when Marissa actually decided to arrive.

Friday before delivery I was so bummed out. We had talked to my mom and decided that it would probably be best for her to stay home and keep her vacation days til Marissa was actually born so we didn’t waste them on another false alarm. That was super hard for me, she wasn’t able to be in the OR with us when the twins were born and yet again she was going to miss the birth of my baby and I just wanted her there with me. (I am a total mamas girl). My OB set up for me to go in the following Tuesday to be induced (I could not be induced until 39 weeks exactly) so the Friday before my chiropractor wanted me to come in for one last adjustment since she didn’t work Mondays. (If you are pregnant… see a chiropractor! SO AMAZING) After visiting my chiro I went home to relax. As I was talking to my mom later that evening I told her I felt off, like something was wrong. I stayed up til around midnight that night cause I was sure that I was going to go into labor that night. Finally giving up and trying to get to sleep, I woke up a hour later…. sure enough… contractions. For the next 2 hours I labored at home, in silence, letting Brendon sleep just in case it was another false alarm. Around 3 am I ended up waking Brendon and told him I was heading to the maternity ward to be checked out and I would call him if it was baby time.

For the next 5 hours I was monitored in basically the maternity emergency room section, in a very, VERY uncomfortable bed. My nurse happened to be someone I knew well, thankfully so at least I had someone to talk to when she came in. After a few hours of being hooked to the monitor the nurses began to worry that Marissa was not showing any signs of movement even though she had a strong, steady heart rate. They called the on call OB and he requested to have an ultrasound tech come in and take a look to see what was going on. In the middle of having strong contractions, not able to be given any pain medications, it wasn’t really processing what was going on when the nurses finally came in and asked me the on call wants to know how I felt about being induced that day. Quickly I called Brendon and let him know that he needed to come to the hospital, and to run next door to get the neighbor until our babysitter got to the house. While I waited for Brendon to get there, the on call OB came in around 9 am and explained to me that Marissa was not showing signs of movement or practicing breathing like she should be so they were going to let me labor for a couple more hours to see if I progressed on my own, if not I would be hooked up to the pitocin. Once Brendon got to the hospital we called his parents and grandma to let them know that were going to be having baby girl that day so they could make it up. Since my mom was not able to make it up in time, we had decided to have Brendon’s mom and grandma in the room during delivery.

Around 10 am I finally got my epidural! Took a couple tries cause my contractions were so strong and I was not able to hold still for very long. My water broke in the middle of that ordeal lol. Once the epidural was in the nurses went to help me move and get a new pad under me. That’s when things got real…. “Why does her water look green?” was what Brendon said. Marissa had passed meconium. This immediately put my into panic! What was going to happen? Was she ok? Did she breath any of it in and end up with an infection? Would she have to be moved to a bigger hospital with a NICU? Every worst case was going through my head. My nurse reassured us that everything was fine, that it just meant that we would have to have pediatricians in the room during delivery to check her. At that point they checked me, I was dilated to 8 cm, and feeling pretty good with the epidural. Brendon’s grandma had arrived around 11 am and we were updating her on what was going on. I started to feel pressure so we called in the nurse to check me again… she said about 8.5 cm. My brother and his wife had just stopped in to see how things were going, when all of a sudden I just looked at Brendon and told him he needed to get the nurse, and he needed to get her NOW!

Everything went so fast from there! My brother and his wife stepped outside while the nurse checked me. She thought I was thinking things cause she had just checked me 30 minutes ago. I told her I needed to push, and she was like “I’m not sure, I just checked you, I don’t think you would have dilated that fast.” Sure enough she looked up at me and said its go time. Brendon quickly called his parents to let them know I was getting ready to push and that they wouldn’t be allowed to come in the room now. He called my mom over video chat so that she could at least still be able to help coach me and see Marissa be born. I’m yelling at the nurse I have to push. My mom is saying then push. The nurse is telling me not to push because the OB wasn’t there yet. So I’m literally crossing my legs yelling he needed to get in there now!! My OB came in the room at 11:38, 4 pushes later Marissa was born at 11:43. 7lbs 15oz and 22in long.

img_2026

Things got scarier from there. Marissa was born not breathing. I’m freaking out, my mom is on video asking what is going on. Brendon’s grandma repeating “Come on baby girl, breath!” Finally she let out a cry! We told mom we would call her back in a little bit. Marissa ended up needing oxygen for 3 minutes, but she had thankfully not breathed in any of the meconium. Our family was complete! Three beautiful daughters. Three little humans that will forever have my heart. Brendon’s parents, and my brother were allowed to come in shortly after. (By the way- my poor brother was outside my door and got to hear the whole delivery!)

img_2027

Leave a comment